Committee Members

All MHI Committees meet at Howard Hall
on the Last Tuesday of Each Month at 5:30 pm.

Development Committee

  • Fundraising Events – planning, recruiting sponsorships, logistics, etc. for fundraisers throughout the fiscal year.
  • Annual Campaign – focus on raising necessary dollars to balance annual operating budget.
  • New Century Fund – increase the MHI sustainability fund for support of MHI’s work and to create a granting agency for historic preservation.

Co-Chairs: Preston Battle & McCauley Williams

Members: Michelle Koeppen, April Veale, Austin Harrison

Advocacy/Marketing/Education Committee

  • Publications – produces Keystone, develops marketing materials for all events, and administers Facebook and other social networking sites.
  • Education – promotes awareness and knowledge of Memphis history and the benefits of historic preservation, produces the Annual Preservation Series, and works with historic neighborhoods to develop documentation of their histories
  • Advocacy – monitors and reports on endangered historic sites in Memphis and Shelby County, plans action responses for endangered sites.

Chair: Joey Hagan

Members: John Griffin, Charlie Lambert, Leigh Gilliland, Perry Sponseller, Sheriesse Cox, Shirley Stagner, Hillsman Wright

Membership Committee

  • Member Events – produce membership events to both reward existing members and increase new memberships
  • Corporate Memberships – develop programs/incentives to attract and retain corporate members
  • Young Professionals – develop programs/incentives to attract and retain young professional members

Chair: Rodger Conine

Members: Marty Gorman, Brent Clayton, Sterling Fisher

Preservation Posse

  • Helps manage Heritage Building Supply and recruit volunteers
  • Curates the collection of architectural artifacts for education and fundraising efforts
  • Maintains a running inventory of all items

Chair: Will McGown

Members: Perry Sponseller, Robert Watson, Chad Fitzwater, Charlie Lambert